600x800 final cover

The Awakening Series


Tara folded and unfolded the pink referral slip. Her fingers made sweat marks on the paper. “I can’t be pregnant. I haven’t had sex.” 

Lisa M. Lilly’s heart pounding novel, The Awakening, tells the story of one young woman who finds her life at risk over a phenomenon she cannot understand.

Tara Spencer is at a loss. She has recently learned she’s pregnant, despite never having had sex. Her fiancé breaks up with her, convinced she cheated on him, and even her parents and best friend doubt her story.

But when Cyril Woods, a member of The Brotherhood religious order, claims to believe that Tara is still a virgin, she feels she has finally found understanding.

The Brotherhood sees Tara’s child as a possible new messiah—that is, until they learn she is expecting a girl. This revelation convinces them that the child is actually the anti-Christ, and they are determined to prevent Tara from giving birth at any cost.

As the forces aligned against her close in, Tara's only hope for survival is to solve the mystery of her pregnancy.  But who is her friend and who is her enemy?

Will Tara find answers before it's too late?

The Unbelievers (Book 2 in The Awakening Series) is now available.

Barnes and_Noble-350

Amazon Kindle Logo

BN nook Logo

Kobo Logo

What people are saying...

  • THE AWAKENING is a little gem of a thriller with a huge concept that rivals Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code....The plotting is ingenious and fast-paced, with edge-of-your seat scenes and unsuspected twists and turns that are the hallmarks of well-done thrillers....skillfully written and has well-drawn characters for whom you genuinely care.
  • ...tightly written, with realistic and good dialogue, as well as very suspenseful, with an element of the Da Vinci Code


  • I was hooked from Page 1. It is very fast-paced and it kept me interested at every turn. I can't wait for the next book in the series.


When I was in grade school, my three favorite events during the school year were the Fun Fair, the Ice Cream Social, and when the Scholastic book catalog came out. (I know, I was really wild kid, right?) The Fun Fair was held in the gymnasium. It was a giant space, or at least it seem that way at the time. There were rows and rows of carnival-like games. The one I loved most had plastic ducklings floating in long narrow troughs. You handed over your tickets and chose a duckling to lift out of the water. A number...
Over the last week, I rewatched the Hunger Games movies. (CAUTION: Some spoilers ahead.) In the beginning of Mockingjay Part One, hero Katniss Everdeen, survivor of two battles to the death, hides in a narrow corridor, rocking and whispering the few facts she remembers, desperate to reorient herself. The scene reminded me of a question a friend asked me after I saw the film at the theater. She hadn't seen it yet, but she'd heard other moviegoers say they did not like it as much as the previous two Hunger Games films because, in this installment, Katniss seemed weak.